Food Industry – Remixed PSA Draft 1

 

Obesity is a growing problem in the United States, and the percent of obese people, adults and children, continues to increase. One major contributor to this issue is the food available to American consumers. Most of the food we eat, whether from a grocery store or a restaurant, is industrially produced and highly processed, making it unhealthy, yet cheap and tasty. The food industry is broken. They know what they produce is unhealthy, but all they care about is profit. If someone questions their products, the typical response is that what the consumer eats is his or her choice and many factors contribute to a persons weight and health. I don’t buy it.

In my opinion, the best solution for fixing the broken food industry and decreasing the obesity statistics is buying and eating of locally and sustainably grown food. Sustainable farming is natural for the planet, the animals, and the humans eating them. Not only does it benefit our home planet, it provides natural, healthy, and delicious food for American consumers. Research even shows that sustainable farming is capable of feeding the growing world population. Eating locally is also beneficial because it allows consumers to know exactly where there food comes from, how it is raised, and what is in it. It also benefits the local economy.

So why aren’t more people eating locally grown sustainable food? I think it is because most people are not aware of the facts. They think that local food is not actually any better than the food that is claimed to be natural found in chain grocery stores. or they think that local food is too expensive. That is why I made this remixed PSA. I wanted people to be informed. I want them to know they have options and know what those options are.

In order to achieve this goal, I first showed the problems with the food industry and then connected the food industry to obesity and the health problems associated with that. Then, I showed the viewer that there is still hope. I portrayed the message that every individual consumer has the choice to buy food produced by the food industry or local, sustainably grown food. The two main techniques I used in this video to make my points were expert opinions and vivid pictures and images. While this is my first time ever actually making a video, I hope the message I was trying to portray comes across to the view.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Food Industry – Remixed PSA Draft 1

  1. kam215 says:

    Your video is awesome! I liked that it mentioned about how industry doesn’t want the public to see what’s in their facilities. I toured a Kraft facility once and it was absolutely disgusting to see how they made the meat that they put into Lunchables. Never ate one of those again!

  2. vjg6 says:

    I agree this video is great! The video shows how obese the US really is, when you used those clips of obese people it should hit home to some of us and also to those industries that are making the food. Its so true about how the food we eat is processed in such a gross way but no one really does anything about it.

  3. Pingback: Digital Media’s Impact on Public Writing | Writing for the Public

  4. jwg24 says:

    I like the PSA remix video you did. It caught my attention when you presented all the advertising commercials of all the unhealthy foods. It shows that this is why were obese, the unhealthy things are advertised when there should be the healthy things being advertised.

  5. bk13 says:

    Great video. I am from Chicago, now residing in PA. So I am appreciative of the many available Farmer’s Market, Wholesfood, and other places that sells local food. However, being from Chicago, I know about the scarceness of those places especially in poorer communities. Below is a link below that list out reasons why low income and food insecure communities have a high risk for obesity. http://frac.org/initiatives/hunger-and-obesity/why-are-low-income-and-food-insecure-people-vulnerable-to-obesity/

Leave a comment